New device: An error occurred. Improv Wi-Fi Serial not detected

I am new to HA/ESPHome. I was able to get two ESP32 devices on my HA install without much issue. I’m now trying to add a D1 Mini 8266 and I’m stuck at the initial set up. I use Prepare for Adoption from the web UI and the install succeeds, but then the next thing that happens is “An error occurred. Improv Wi-Fi Serial not detected.”

I have tried the prepare for adoption step multiple times and the sequence of events is the same. I’ve already tried unplugging and replugging the D1 to my computer.

Am I doing something wrong? My Wifi SSID/Password are still in ESPHome “Secrets” and have not changed.

I found the logs for the device and it looks like it gets to “setting up wifi” and then there’s an exception error and the device reboots itself. This just loops forever.

I flashed this same D1 with a wifi example from Arduino IDE and it worked just fine.

Unclear what I should try to get this working…

Flash via a cable attached to the esphome computer.

The headless computer with HA installed on it? That is running HA-OS… So plug it in there and then flash from the same ESPHome web console from another computer?

Yeah that’s how it works best.

1 Like

Wow that worked. It flashed and it came right online the first time. Thanks for taking the time to comment!

When esphome started, that was the only way to do the first upload.

Hi all. I also have this problem. but after reinstalling drivers all works fine

Driver download with ESPHome link

1 Like

This page helped me: ESP Web Tools

I had this issue after flashing an ESP8266 connected to USB (not the server, but the laptop). I think what happens is that it tries to configure the device while it is still in flash mode right after flashing it, and for it to come out of flash mode, you need to disconnect the GIO from GND (which you would have connected to be able to flash), then restart the device (unplug power/replug) and then click the setup wifi again.